TV Pop Diaries

Popular Music on British Television

Home Intro Articles Credits Timeline Links 1950s 1960s 1970s 1980s 1990s


23rd April 1960 - 18th June 1960

Another Saturday evening ABC-TV rock ‘n’ roll show, produced by Jack Good and hosted by Keith Fordyce. Described by TV Times as “a fistful of songs”, this attempt to get back to the Oh Boy! formula only lasted eight shows and featured Billy Fury, The Vernons Girls, Jess Conrad and Oh Boy! guitarist Joe Brown.

It was decided to return to the energy of Oh Boy for this new show but this time include American talent just as he did on Boy Meets Girls. John Barry was likely to be hired as the Musical Director.

Good had announed that after the first series of shows it would return on September 10th. It didn't. Just as Oh Boy didn’t return. Explaining the reason for cancelling the the show the broadcaster contended that "ABC thinks there is no longer a public demand for teenage rock 'n' roll type programmes."

A version of dance tune Madison Time was released by Parlophone during the show's run and name checked the show throughout.